close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Find Us

Emmet O'Neal Library
50 Oak Street
Mountain Brook, AL 35213
(205) 879-0459

info@eolib.org


Lindsy Gardner, Library Director
(205) 445-1192

legardner@bham.lib.al.us

Mission

It is the mission of the Emmet O'Neal Library to provide quality library and informational services for all the people of our community.

Goals

  • To provide the most up-to-date reference and literary materials available.
  • To encourage a love of reading and learning in our young people.
  • To serve as a cultural and learning center for our community.
  • To provide a convenient, attractive, and contemplative environment.
  • To utilize the most effective technology.
  • To maintain a well-trained, service-oriented, and friendly staff.

Employment Opportunities

The Emmet O'Neal Library is always glad to accept applications.

Employment Application

Current Opportunities:

FT Office Manager - Administration

FT Library Assistant II - Circulation

Board of Trustees

Patrick S. Carlton
Susan S. Elliott, Vice-Chair
Nancy Long
Penny W. Page, Chair
J. Bennett White

Staff Directory

Administration

Lindsy Gardner, MLS, Library Director
(205) 445-1193
legardner@bham.lib.al.us 

Lindsy is a graduate of the University of Alabama (BA English) and the University of Maryland (MLS). She started her career as a Children’s Librarian at Birmingham Public Library in 1998. In 2001, she became Director of the Demopolis Public Library, right next door to her childhood home of Linden in Marengo County.  Lindsy accepted a position as Director of Lancaster Community Library in Kilmarnock, Virginia in 2007 where she successfully managed a capital campaign and building renovation project. In 2017, Lindsy was honored and pleased to return home to Alabama to lead the Emmet O’Neal Library.

Lindsy enjoys all genres of fiction and non-fiction, especially on audiobook.  She watched all the titles on the AFI Top 100 movies list, and particularly enjoys 1940-50’s era movies. She often goes on long walks, runs, or hikes with her dog, Butch, a mixed breed rescue.  Lindsy is an avid fan of college football, and in particular, the Crimson Tide. 

Lindsy is dedicated to the concept of the library as the community hearth.  She is committed to working with the talented board and staff at Emmet O’Neal to have the most powerful impact possible in the community.  If you have questions or suggestions, her door is always open.


Pam Rosser, Donations & Memorials
(205) 445-1155
parosser@bham.lib.al.us

Pam joined the Library in 2016 after teaching math for 25 years. She handles communications with donors, provides support for the Mountain Brook Library Foundation, receives and maintains records for donations, and will happily assist patrons in selecting material for memorials or honorariums. Pam is a singer/musician and enjoys camping and hiking with her husband and her furbaby.


Paige Willcutt, Accounting
(205) 445-1160
paigew@bham.lib.al.us

Paige has been with the Library since March 2009 as Accountant. She quietly sits in her office with her 10-key and office supplies, paying bills and crunching numbers on a part-time basis. The only true number lover in the building!

Adult, Young Adult, and Reference

Katie Moellering, Head of Adult Services
(205) 445-1118
kmoellering@bham.lib.al.us

Katie is responsible for ordering materials (books, magazines, audio books, downloadable collection, etc) as well as planning programs, writing grants, working the reference desk and just about anything else that comes up! She'd love to hear from you!


Eric Cottingham, Adult Department
(205) 445-1147
ecottingham@bham.lib.al.us

Eric took his first library job in 2006 and started at Emmet O'Neal in 2015. He has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Montevallo, where he studied English Literature and Philosophy. He received his Masters of Library and Information Studies from the University of Alabama in 2014.  He has studied various forms of martial arts for over twenty years and teaches self defense classes from time to time. He loves dogs, science fiction and fantasy, cartoons, table-top and video games of all sorts, and his wife and daughter (not in that order).


Matt Layne, Young Adult Librarian
(205) 445-1141
mlayne@bham.lib.al.us

Matt Layne joined the Library in 2008. During his tenure he has hosted such memorable programs as water balloon wars, Quidditch tournaments, cooking competitions, papermaking and bookbinding, circuit bending, video game tournaments, parent-teen olympics and movie marathons. He strives to create programs and activities that engage our community's teens intellectually and socially all while having fun. Matt attributes the success of the young adult program to the library's Teen Advisory Board which is comprised of 40+ students from grades 7th-12th.


Gregory Lowry, Adult Department
gtlowry@bham.lib.al.us


Amanda Westfall, Research Librarian
(205) 445-1119
amandaw@bham.lib.al.us

Amanda is a second-generation librarian who joined EOL in 2009. She is an avid music and film lover and is in charge of stocking EOL's audio/visual collection. When she is not reading or pinning things on Pinterest, she is baking something with Nutella.


Holley Wesley, Reference Librarian
(205) 445-1117
hwesley@bham.lib.al.us

Holley joined EOL in 2000 as a library page and later circulation clerk before becoming the reference librarian in 2005. She’s a reverse sphinx, answering questions instead of asking them. She may not know everything, but she has a good idea of where to find it.

Technical Services

Nancy Sexton, Head of Technical Services
(205) 445-1124
nsexton@bham.lib.al.us 

Nancy has been with the Library since 1981. As manager of the Technical Services Department she is responsible for ordering and processing all materials for the Library, maintaining the collection database, and managing and accounting for the materials budget.


Henry Bonner, Technical Services Assistant
(205) 445-1125
hbonner@bham.lib.al.us 


Amy Deering, Technical Services Assistant
(205) 445-1126
amyd@bham.lib.al.us 


Andrew McKinnon, Library Assistant II
(205) 445-1130
amckinnon@bham.lib.al.us 


Angela Moran, Technical Services Assistant
(205) 445-1125
angelam@bham.lib.al.us 

Angela been a part of the library field for many years. As an undergraduate and graduate student at Auburn University, she worked in the Special Collections and Archives Department. When she moved to the Birmingham area she began working at Hoover Public Library, where she is a part of the Circulation department in addition to working at the Emmet O'Neal Library in Technical Servics.


Nisha Virani, Technical Services Assistant
(205) 445-1131
nishav@bham.lib.al.us 

children

Children

Gloria Repolesk, Head of Children's Services
(205) 445-1142
gloriar@bham.lib.al.us

Ms. Gloria has worked in the Children’s Department since 2010. Her wacky sense of humor makes her perfect to plan crazy, fun programs geared for the elementary- aged kids. If you see her at the schools, don’t worry! She is occasionally allowed to leave the library, but only to visit the schools to perform story-times and book talks. Please don’t hesitant to ask her for book recommendations. She makes it her personal mission to find the perfect book for each individual patron!


Lisa Angwin, Children's Assistant
(205) 445-1116
langwin@bham.lib.al.us


Tess DeView, Children's Assistant
(205) 445-1108
thdeview@bham.lib.al.us


Morgan Higgins, Children's Librarian
(205) 445-1146
mlhiggins@bham.lib.al.us

Ms. Morgan has worked in libraries since 2010 and joined the Emmet O'Neal Library in 2015. She orders books and plans programs for our 3rd-6th grade patrons. One of her favorite things is to find the perfect book for any reader who crosses her path. She also loves podcasts, blue M&Ms, her cat, fall weather, and all things nerdy (not necessarily in that order). Find her in the children's department anytime to talk books or the latest episode of Doctor Who!


Dale Ingram, Children's Assistant
dingram@bham.lib.al.us


Rachel Owens, Children's Assistant III
(205) 445-1109
rachelh@bham.lib.al.us

If you’ve been to storytime, she might have told it. If you’ve seen a poster, she might have designed it. If you’ve read an article, she might have written it. If you’ve checked out an easy reader, she might have ordered it. And if you’ve asked a question…well, she just might have answered it. Ms. Rachel does a little bit of everything in the Children’s Department, but her favorite part of her job is matching books to folks, so stop in and visit her for your next book recommendation.


Merideth Stackpole, Children's Assistant III
(205) 445-1143
mstackpole@bham.lib.al.us 

“Library Out Loud” is the name of Ms. Merideth's storytime because she believes books should be exuberantly enjoyed in and out of the library. Ask her for a fun picture book to laugh over or a chapter book you won’t want to put down. If you can’t find her, she's in the back designing those flyers you get at the schools or at home sharing great books with one of her own three children: a future actress, a novelist, and a ninja super hero.

Circulation

Doris Young, Head of Circulation
(205) 445-1104
dkyoung@bham.lib.al.us 

Doris has worked at the Emmet O'Neal Library for 37 years. Not only is she the longest-term employee at the Library, she is also the tallest. She manages the Circulation Department, so she fields a lot of complaints about fines and overdue notices!


Michelle Cheng, Circulation Page
macheng@bham.lib.al.us 


Daniel Daughhetee, Circulation Librarian
(205) 445-1105
danield@bham.lib.al.us

Daniel Daughhetee has worked in libraries since 2001 and at the Emmet O'Neal Library since 2008. He holds a bachelor of arts in history from the University of Montevallo and is currently working toward a master of library and information science degree from the University of Alabama.Daniel lives in Vestavia with his wife and their books.


Thomas Kulovitz, Circulation Clerk
(205) 445-1107
tkulovitz@bham.lib.al.us 


Katie Elkins Lasseter, Circulation Clerk
(205) 445-1106
kelkins@bham.lib.al.us


Bert Lipscomb, Circulation Page
adlipscomb@bham.lib.al.us 


Justin Morrison, Circulation Clerk
(205) 445-1133
justinm@bham.lib.al.us 

Justin has worked at the Emmet O'Neal Library since February 2012 and has enjoyed every minute of it. He likes good books and movies, computers and video games. He’s also been known to run a mile or two and will always tell you to have a nice day.


Carey Norris, Circulation Clerk
cwnorris@bham.lib.al.us 


Carly Pappas, Circulation Page
cmpappas@bham.lib.al.us 


Alicia York, Circulation Clerk
adyork@bham.lib.al.us 

Information Technology

Marylyn Eubank, Head of Information Technology
(205) 445-1115
marylynw@bham.lib.al.us

Marylyn joined EOL in 2007 as the first Information Technology Manager and currently maintains anything with a plug, battery, solar panel or computer chip in use at the library. When all equipment is fully functional, she helps improve information literacy in the Mountain Brook community by teaching classes on office productivity software, ebook/audiobook downloading, and social media. She is very patient with anyone who isn’t her relative, so ask her a question if you have one.


Michael Lopez, Technology Assistant
(205) 445-1103
mplopez@bham.lib.al.us

Michael recently moved to Birmingham from Minneapolis and is the newest member of the EOL staff. He brought his love of music, film, and autobiographies with him, but was happy to leave the cold and snow back in Minnesota. Michael earned a Bachelor of Arts in Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature from the University of MN and has been working in university and public libraries for over 15 years. In the IT Department at EOL he manages social media, Makerspace projects, and public computer maintenance. He is as passionate about customer service and collection development as he is about technology, so feel free to visit him in the Makerspace or at the Adult/Reference desk if you have a question and he will be happy to help you, or point you in the right direction.